This unique thatched pub situated on the beach at the foot of Shanklin Chine dates back to 1817. It is the ideal place for the family to relax and sample the varied menu and try our range of good real ale.
The Fisherman’s Cottage restaurant is open daily between March and the end of October. We pride ourselves on the quality of our varied menu and the service we provide. Come and see Debbie and the team for that special dining experience. You can contact us by phone, post or email via our contact page.
We are family friendly and children are most welcome; we have a children’s menu with many items made with fresh produce. We have a daily specials board and have a variety of vegetarian dishes. There are beautiful views across the English Channel from the outside seating area where you can relax and unwind. The cottage itself dates back to 1817 and with its wonderful history and décor will be a visit to remember.
Telephone: 01983 863882.
How To Find Us
- From East Cowes ferry, A3054 to Newport, A3020 to Sandown, A3020 to Shanklin.
- From Fishbourne ferry, A3054 to Ryde, straight along Esplanade to boating lake, follow road round onto A3055 to Sandown, A3055 to Shanklin.
- From Yarmouth ferry, A3054 to Newport, A3020 to Sandown, A3020 to Shanklin.
- The Islandline train stops at Shanklin station. From there it’s a pleasant walk to the Old Village and the Chine.
- Southern Vectis buses 2 and 3 stop at Shanklin.
Fisherman’s Cottage was built in 1817 by the same William Colenutt who made the path through the Chine. He was also the first to operate bathing machines. In 1845 the cottage was leased to his son-in-law, James Sampson.
Members of the Colenutt family occupied the cottage until 1960 when, during a terrible storm, Miss Colenutt had to be rescued from her kitchen by Charlie Spencer of the Chine Inn. Charlie had heard Miss Colenutt ringing her bell for help after her kitchen was flooded by two foot of water. The Chine also suffered damage and required substantial and expensive repairs.
Today, Fisherman’s Cottage is a free house.
Hot Brine Baths
James Sampson provided visitors with hot brine baths, which were considered very beneficial in days gone by. Sea water was piped to a large tank and then heated in a copper boiler. In 1970 a hot brine bath was moved from the Fisherman’s Cottage to within the Chine. Today it can be seen alongside the stream near the lower entrance. In addition to these activities, James Sampson became the first Clerk to Shanklin Local Board, established in 1863.
Hot meals and light bites are served daily. We use sustainably-caught fish, including bream, haddock and cod as well as seafood including lobster, crayfish and crab.
We have daily specials and a children’s menu.
NEW: Enjoy a day & evening visit with our new return tickets in Lumière season. Return visit valid within 7 days.